No class? I think I’ll kayak.

Wednesday was a glorious day. The weather perfect. No school. Just good people and whitewater. The morning started out on the Oconaluftee with Will Butler and ended on the Sinks with Jay Mahan and Brad Caldwell.

Baby Falls

The Oconaluftee was simple, a good run for a morning warmup. It was quick and easy. I enjoyed my time on the river with Will. We chatted about nonsense through the boogie water. There were a couple Class III rapids. One rapid Will lost his paddle and I retrieved it. I don’t really remember how that happened, but it did.

The Little River in the Smokey’s was a great time. I definitely plan on heading back next time it rains. It was continuous whitewater, with big holes and lots and lots of boogie water. It starts and ends wtih a Class IV. I landed my roll at least 4-5 times. I’m getting use to this no swimming business, and liking it.

The last rapid: Elbow, trashed Jay, Brad and I. The seam in the water was real funky and immediately flipped me.

Jared's Knee

Jay went back for redemption and ran a great line with a nice maneuver at the end. I was impressed! If you watch the video you’ll see it!

Friday Jay and I ran the Tellico. It was Jay’s first time down. He ran two laps and I was the shuttle bunny for the second run. I opted out because my shoulder was wasn’t feeling good. It’s been acting up lately…bad shoulder bad, bad shoulder.

The video is a culmination of all the rivers I’ve recently run!!! Please watch and enjoy. The video is all Jay!

One Response to “No class? I think I’ll kayak.”

  1. I think this is one of the most valuable data for me. And i’m glad reading your write-up. But wanna remark on some general things, The internet site style is ideal, the articles is precisely great

Leave a Reply

