No Diggity

Eternity is so much fun. It’s the most forgiving play spot in the SE. Perfect for learning and experimenting.

Kleberg and Caldwell play last winter at eternity

Honestly, I really haven’t play boated much at all. My first time in a play boat was March, and I could probably count on my hand the times I’ve spent playing in a hole. I only know how to do flat spins…I’ve tried to do a loop probably 3 times and have failed every time.

I prefer to move down river and not just stay at one feature, but it’s still fun. Besides, I’m a little hesitant to just throw myself around in a hole when a have a bad shoulder. I do wish I knew how to do more stuff though, but it takes time practicing and just getting out there on the water.

After my beat down. Now ready for the melt down.

I’m a firm believer that play boating makes you a better boater. Not only does your roll become super solid, but you know how to react if you do get stuck in a hole by surprise. I know this from personal experience. A couple weeks ago at the last drop of Lost Paddle on the Upper Gauley, I got surfed in a really shallow hole river left. After about 20 seconds I finally got out, then washed down in another hole right below. Switching from my on side to off-side roll and throwing back decks in attempt to catch the green water, I finally got out after about 15 seconds and was super pumped to still be in my boat! I would not have known how to react to the situation had I not spent time surfing holes.

So, spending the time play boating definitely pays off in the end, even if your like me and don’t know how to do anything!

The video below isn’t anything special, it’s meant to be silly, so don’t be hatin’.  Liz and I sure do have flat spins on lockkkkkk. ;)

See you on the water!

Leave a Reply

